Fourth Annual Madison Hip-Hop Awards
Recognizing Quality and
Left: Madison Media Institute dean Chris Taylor poses with local artists Higher Education Records and Jesse Driver.
Right: Young artist Gavin Doby performs his original song "Internet sensation" with his Boys and Girls Club crew --
Photos by Sugar Free
From Urban Community Arts Network

The fourth annual Madison Hip-Hop Awards took place at the Barrymore Theater on November 10th. Nearly 300 people celebrated local
urban music. Greg Doby of Boys and Girls Club CAPA programs choreographed a performance by the kids in the program and older
rappers in the local scene. The performance started with the youngest performers, and each performer was followed by an older
performer going all the way up to feature Yokes, who was part of Fresh Force — a group formed in 1984 in Madison.

The Madison Hip-Hop Awards (MHHA) were founded in May of 2010 based on an idea by Andy “Mr. Paparazzi” Huynh, Mark “ShaH” Evans
and Dexter “Tefman” Patterson as a response to the need to bring positive attention to Madison’s talented and dedicated Hip-Hop scene.
The Madison Hip-Hop Awards ceremony is a not-for-profit event. Throughout the planning process for the first MHHA, organizers recognized
multiple areas where the Hip-Hop community can use their art to enhance the general community and founded the local non-profit agency
Urban Community Arts Network, Ltd (UCAN). UCAN’s mission is, in part, to empower and unify youth and adults in the Madison area using
urban arts, specifically Hip-Hop. UCAN/MHHA board members are listed below, however, MHHA would not be possible without the
generous support and contributions of artists, fans and business-owners in Madison and beyond.

Most Influential award was given to Baldhead Kingpin, a notable producer in Madison and recording engineer that has been part of the
scene since the '90s. Other awards presented were Artist of the Year - RIP; Group of the Year - Higher Education Records; R&B Artist of
the Year - Jesse Lester; Rookie of the Year - Sam Cooke; Producer of the Year - DJ Pain 1; Sound Engineer of the Year - Oliver Wright; DJ
of the Year - DJ Pain 1; Song of the Year - Must Have Been – RIP; Video of the Year - Supernatural – RIP; Album of the Year - Feel Good
Music – Tefman; Mixtape of the Year - The Takeover – Mad Town King, hosted by DJ Pain 1; Collab of the Year - Dreamgirl – RIP ft. ANT;
Videographer of the Year - RIP; Promoter of the Year –Chill/Come Clean Entertainment and Tefman/Top of the Map Entertainment;
Hip-Hop Dancers of the Year - Goddistas; Radio Personality of the  Year - Bo$$lady.

Awards presenters included: Roy Elkins of Broadjam, Chris 'Godxilla' Taylor of MMI, DJ Serpentine from WORT, CAPA director Greg 'GiNx'
Doby, and super producer Jimi Kendrix. Proceeds from the event go towards The Boys and Girls Club of Dane County's Creative and
Performing Arts Program (CAPA).

For more information, find us on Facebook: Madison Hip Hop Awards, follow us on Twitter @MadtownHipHop, or email us at