Wisconsin Union Theater
From the Wisconsin Union Directorate

In the 2011-2012 Season, the Wisconsin Union Theater celebrates both its great history and
bright future. Marking the 92nd annual Concert Series, the 52nd annual Travel Adventure Film
Series and the last season before a two-year renovation* during which the season will be held
in other venues, the theater announces an exciting 2011-2012 Season.

Responding to the current economy, the theater continues to offer reasonable prices and value
tickets for most events, and a family savings package which allows a family of four to watch
an artist as prominent as dancer Savion Glover or pianist Peter Serkin for less than $100.
Wisconsin Union members and UW-Madison faculty and staff receive deeper discounts and UW-
Madison students will continue paying $10 or less for all events. More details are available
following the season schedule.

The 2011-2012 Season Includes:

Madison World Music Festival. Free! Thursday-Saturday, September 15-17, 2011

Academy of St. Martin in the Fields Chamber Ensemble, Friday, September 30, 2011, 7:30pm

Sweet Honey in the Rock, Grammy award-winning African American female a cappella
ensemble, Friday, October 7, 2011, 8pm

Terence Blanchard, Isthmus Jazz Series, Grammy winning trumpet player and composer,
Friday, October 21, 2011, 8pm

Yamato, Drummers of Japan, “Gamushara—The Beat of Courage,” Thursday, October 27, 2011,
8pm

Caroline Goulding, Violin Recital: Thursday, November 3, 2011, 7:30pm

Caroline Goulding with UW Chamber Orchestra, Mendelssohn concerto
Saturday, November 5, 2011, 7:30pm
A Classical Encounter with Savion Glover, “Arguably the world’s best tap dancer” Thursday, November 10, 2011, 8pm

Dobet Gnahoré, contemporary Afro-Pop from Ivory Coast Friday, November 11, 2011, 9pm, Sett, Union South

Keyboard Conversations® with Jeffrey Siegel”A Beethoven Bonanza Wednesday, November 16, 2011, 7:30pm, Mills Hall

Village Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, Isthmus Jazz Series, Grammy winner for Best Large Jazz Ensemble, Opening: UW-Madison Jazz Orchestra
Saturday, February 4, 2012, 8pm

Gaelic Storm, Celtic, but hardly traditional! Friday, February 17, 2012, 8pm

David Finckel, Wu Han & Philip Setzer, Piano, Cello & Violin Friday, February 24, 2012, 7:30pm

Bela Fleck and the Flecktones Thursday, March 1, 2012

The 21st Annual Marcia Légère Student Play Festival. Free! Saturday, March 10, 2012, 7pm, Sunday, March 11, 2012, 3pm

Sierra Maestra, Great Hall Dance Party! Guardians of the Cuban son tradition Friday, March 23, 2012, 8pm

Pro Arte Quartet with Christopher Taylor, piano. Free! In conjunction with Pro Arte 100th Anniversary Celebration, William Bolcom- Piano Quintet No.
2, Saturday March 24, 2012, 8 pm

Seun Kuti and Eypgt 80, Son and band of Afro-pop’s originator Fela Kuti  Thursday, April 12, 2012, 8pm

Pilobolus Dancer Theater, Saturday, April 14, 2012, 8pm

Neale-Silva Young Artists Competition Winners Recital. Free! Sunday, April 29, 2012, 12:30pm

Keyboard Conversations with Jeffrey Siegel, The Power and Passion of Brahms Wednesday, May 2, 2012, 7:30pm, Mills Hall

Leahy, A volcanic explosion of  talent and energy in the Celtic tradition Friday, May 4, 2012, 8pm

Peter Serkin, Piano Saturday, May 5, 2012, 7:30pm

Travel Adventure Film Series

Mary Lee and Sid Nolan: Cruising the Eastern Mediterranean Monday & Tuesday, September 26-27, 2011, 7:30 pm

Marlin Darrah: Pakistan and Afghanistan – A Photographer’s Journey from Kabul to the Khyber Pass & The Tribal Zone Monday & Tuesday, October
31 & November 1, 2011, 7:30 pm
Fran and Brooke Reidelberger: Colorful Mexico! Monday and Tuesday, November 28 & 29, 2011, 7:30 pm

Clint and Sue Denn: Egypt’s Treasures and Cruising the Nile Monday & Tuesday, March 26 & 27, 2012, 7:30 pm

Karin Muller: Along the Royal Inca Road Monday & Tuesday, May 7 & 8, 2012, 7:30 pm

Savings and other information

Family savings: for many of this season’s events, youth tickets are only $14 with purchase of adult ticket (limit two youth tickets per adult ticket).
Youth tickets must be purchased at the same time as the adult ticket and are valid for youths 6 – 18 years old.  Age verified at door.  See Family
Savings events in the order form.

Again this year, tickets for UW-Madison students with a valid ID are only $10. Please note: these tickets must be picked up at the box office and UW-
Madison student I.D.’s are required at purchase.

Discounts provided to Wisconsin Union members, UW-Madison faculty and staff, and students with a valid ID from other schools. Members of these
groups pay $4 less per ticket than the general public. Not valid on value tickets. Travel Adventure Films discount is $2.

For more information regarding the Wisconsin Union Theater’s renovation please visit  the Memorial Union’s Reinvestment website.